Champions League 2023/2024: Summary and Analysis of Matchday 3

Champions League 3/2023 Matchday 2024: Highlights and Details

The third matchday of the group stage of the Champions League 2023/2024 has left us with emotions from start to finish. The action kicked off on Tuesday with the dominance of titanic clubs such as Bayern Munich and Real Madrid, who took the maximum points available so far.

Champions League 2023/2024: Summary and Analysis of Matchday 3


Highlights of Tuesday

Bayern Munich and Real Madrid showed why they are considered favourites in this edition, by winning their respective matches and scoring 9 points.

However, it wasn't all smooth sailing on this day. Manchester United struggled to win 1-0 against Copenhagen. The A dramatic encounter at Old Trafford almost saw a draw for the Danish side in the last minute penalty. Fortunately for the Red Devils, the Cameroonian goalkeeper André Onana excelled in stopping the shot, being acclaimed as the figure of the party.

Expectations for Wednesday

Manchester City and Barcelona will try to emulate the victories of Munich and Madrid. Both face Young Boys and Shakhtar Donetsk, respectively. However, the real focus is on Group F. Known to many as the "group of death," the duel between PSG and AC Milan, as well as the clash between Newcastle and Borussia Dortmund, are the most eagerly awaited.

Surprisingly, PSG, who boast stars such as Kylian Mbappe, were humiliated 4-1 by Newcastle United in the previous round. This leaves the Question: Who will take the lead in this competitive group?

No. Group A Pts. Pj Pg On Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Bayern Munich 9
3
3
0
0
9
5
4
2 Galatasaray 4
3
1
1
1
6
7
-1
3 Manchester United 3
3
1
0
2
6
7
-1
4 FC Copenhagen 1
3
0
1
2
3
5
-2
No. Group B Pts. Pj Pg On Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Arsenal 6
3
2
0
1
7
3
4
2 Lens 5
3
1
2
0
4
3
1
3 Seville 2
3
0
2
1
4
5
-1
4 PSV 2
3
0
2
1
3
7
-4
No. Group C Pts. Pj Pg On Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Real Madrid 9
3
3
0
0
6
3
3
2 Naples 6
3
2
0
1
5
4
1
3 SC Braga 3
3
1
0
2
5
6
-1
4 Union Berlin 0
3
0
0
3
2
5
-3
No. Group D Pts. Pj Pg On Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Real Sociedad 7
3
2
1
0
4
1
3
2 Inter 7
3
2
1
0
4
2
2
3 Red Bull Salzburg 3
3
1
0
2
3
4
-1
4 Benfica 0
3
0
0
3
0
4
-4
No. Group E Pts. Pj Pg On Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Atletico Madrid 4
2
1
1
0
4
3
1
2 Latium 4
2
1
1
0
3
2
1
3 Feyenoord 3
2
1
0
1
4
3
1
4 Celtic 0
2
0
0
2
1
4
-3
Grupo F Pts. Pj Pg Pe Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Newcastle United 4
2
1
1
0
4
1
3
2 PSG 3
2
1
0
1
3
4
-1
3 Milan 2
2
0
2
0
0
0
0
4 Borussia Dortmund 1
2
0
1
1
0
2
-2
Grupo G Pts. Pj Pg Pe Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Manchester City 6
2
2
0
0
6
2
4
2 RB Leipzig 3
2
1
0
1
4
4
0
3 Young Boys 1
2
0
1
1
3
5
-2
4 Red Star 1
2
0
1
1
3
5
-2
No. Group H Pts. Pj Pg On Pp Gf Gc Df
1 Barcelona 6
2
2
0
0
6
0
6
2 Harbor 3
2
1
0
1
3
2
1
3 Shakhtar Donetsk 3
2
1
0
1
4
5
-1
4 Royal Antwerp 0
2
0
0
2
2
8
-6


Fixtures & Schedules

Tuesday, October 24

  • Galatasaray vs. Bayern Munich
  • Inter Milan vs. Inter Milan Salzburg
  • Union Berlin vs. Napoli
  • Sevilla vs. Sevilla Arsenal
  • Braga vs. Real Madrid
  • Lens vs. PSV
  • Benfica vs. Real Sociedad
  • Manchester United vs. Copenhague

Wednesday, October 25

  • Barcelona vs. Shakhtar Donetsk, Feyenoord vs. Lazio:

Times: 1:45 pm (Buenos Aires), 11:45 am (Bogotá), 10:45 am (Mexico City), 6:45 pm (Madrid), 12:45 pm (Miami)

Newcastle vs. Borussia Dortmund, Leipzig vs. Red Star, Young Boys vs. Manchester City, PSG vs. Milan, Celtic vs. Atlético de Madrid, and Royal Antwerp vs. Port:

Times: 4:00 pm (Buenos Aires), 2:00 pm (Bogotá), 1:00 pm (Mexico City), 9:00 pm (Madrid), 3:00 pm (Miami)

Post a Comment

0 Comments